Dear nuun,

They say that we runner-types are plagued with loneliness.  That we are driven to run long miles by ourselves.  That we don’t understand the meaning of teamwork.  But nuun says, “Let’s prove them wrong!”.

By proposing to put together an all-female, all-blogger team in the Hood to Coast Relay, nuun dares to show the world that solo runners from all corners of the continent would love to come together and be part of a well-hydrated team.  And this is a team on which I belong!

What can I offer to team nuun??  I will give team nuun exactly what nuun gives me……

Zero Sugar: Well … unfortunately, I am hardly zero sugar myself.  I have an incurable sweet tooth.

WITP

nuun on the course

Friends at work know that my cupboard is filled with high-fructose corn syrup candy.  I have a stash of candy right here at my desk.

But, when it comes to running, sugarless nuun flavours hit the spot and don’t leave me hunting for a creek to wash off that sticky feeling.

Portable: I’m compact and easy to fit into a tight spot, just like a tube of nuun.  I’m always ready to go when you are and I don’t have a high maintenance bone in my body!  I know that team van has room for me!

Balanced (the perfect mix): I have found balance in many parts of my life – work vs play; talking vs listening; fun vs competition; running vs dancing; mountainous vs undulating; nuun

vs beer.  Everything in my life has its place and is given an equal opportunity to shine.  And the bonus is that I get to stay hydrated throughout!

what should I wear today?

Refreshing:  It would be too bold to claim that I am as refreshing as nuun, but I have been told that I can be a breath of fresh air when tensions are high and a lot is at stake.  Humour, wit and an easy-going attitude could prove quite refreshing during a 200 mile stage run with 12 women!  Besides, I don’t sweat – I glisten.

Ten (+) Flavours:  One for each type of training I do:

Citrus Fruit – my go-to  flavour for a 10 km loop of trails after work

Tri-Berry – for that same 10 km loop, but with a flashlight and headlamp through the dark of winter

Kona Cola -mixed with sustained energy (tastes like a coke float) and is perfect during the back half of a 50 mile trail race

choices… choices…

Lemon Lime – hill workout?  I’m all over it!

Fruit Punch – speed workout on the track.  The taste of pain!

Tropical  – for my zumba dance class.   It tastes like a salsa cruise.

Orange Ginger – my short and sweet bike commute to and from work

Banuuna – for road running, trying to avoid all those car-driving monkeys

powered by nuun for STORMY 50 miler

Grape – long gruelling mountain run/hike with a sweet and fast descent

Strawberry Lemonade – my NEW favourite flavour, especially  for 50 km race day

Lemon-Tea  – a kick of caffeine for those early race mornings or for a pick-me-up after 6 hours on the trail!

Easy-To-Use: No user manual needed for me.  Simply put shoes on my feet, fill my bottle with nuun and point me in the right direction.  I’ll get the job done with a smile and be ready for more.

Earth Conscious: Unsustainable is unacceptable, so get on board.  I live it and I teach it.  I appreciate every effort that companies take to care for the Earth.  Thank you, nuun!

ready when you are!

“Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot,

Nothing is going to get better. It’s not.

Dr. Seuss in The Lorax

I offer myself to you, nuun.  I would love the chance to be part of your team.  I promise to run hard, drink a lot and spread the word!

top o’ the world!

In hydration,

Martha