I forgot that I have a blog.  It completely slipped my mind.  In fact, I had to make 9 password attempts before I could log in just now.  So I figure that I better stay long enough to add a new post before another season goes by.  Or before blogging becomes obsolete.  Has it really been 6 weeks since I sat down and wrote?  It has.  And in that same block of time, I didn’t read anyone else’s blog.  I have been blog-free.

It is the same with my cell phone.  A few weeks will go by before I notice that it hasn’t been charged and has quietly died at the bottom of my school bag.  I was struck by this the other day as I had after-work drinks with friends.  Everyone had their phones out on the table or close by in their bags.  These phones were beeping and ringing and vibrating the whole time.  Luckily, my friends are the high-quality type who won’t interrupt a face-to-face conversation because an appliance calls to them.  But, all the same, it gave me pause.  Why is my phone silently dying from under-use while others consider it a top priority?  Why haven’t I jumped on board?

Let’s consider a few things about me.  I like shiny things.  I accessorize.  I like being in touch with people.  All of this makes me think that I would be a candidate for a shiny accessory that keeps me accessible to people.  But it doesn’t work that way.

I can’t stand answering my land-line phone at home.  Rarely is it someone that I know and sometimes it is someone that I am avoiding.   B and I will often wait each other out to see who will cave in first to answer the damn thing.   I am one of those people who won’t answer the phone during the dinner hour and is unimpressed if it rings between 9 and 9.  Email falls into the same category.  That little red flag usually means that work/demands/obligations will quickly follow.   But, at least with an email, you can put off answering for a little while whereas with a phone call you have to be ready to perform the moment that you answer.  I will never be the type to have a hands-free device for the car or make a call while I’m in the grocery store line-up.  These places are too public for the type of conversation that I prefer.

To me, hi-tech gadgets simply get in the way of real conversations about real situations with real people.  I need real emotions and real interactions.  I don’t want to talk to you while you surf or text or check your vibrating blackberry.  Give me eye contact and I’m yours.

But here I am, writing a blog.  That seems to go against everything that I just wrote.  Yet perhaps blogging is my thing.  6 weeks can slip by without any sense of obligation or duty.  When I want to read about people’s experiences and their emotions, I can read a few blogs and feel that I have heard it from them.  And when I finally have something to write (and when I remember my password), I can convince myself that I have your whole-hearted attention.  And if I don’t – then you wouldn’t have read this far down the page!